Mini Bargain Haul from Superdrug Review!

Hey again everyone!

After my last blog post, I asked some of my friends on Facebook if there was anything they would particularly like to see and the overwhelming response was more “bargain” reviews and recommendations. 

As someone who has been recently made unemployed and is trying to spend as little as possible, I understand the desire to find good products that don’t break the bank. I do maintain that the MAC Prep + Prime Primer is worth the £22.50 price tag but mostly for that high SPF value. 

Anyway, I had to go to town the other day to the dreaded Job Centre and with summer threatening to hit any time soon, I decided I would grab some anti allergy tablets in preparation for the onslaught of pollen. I opted to go to Superdrug as that was the closest and usually the cheapest. 

For a while I had been debating with trying a felt tip style liquid eyeliner so I thought that I would look in Superdrug for a cheap one, along with my hayfever tablets, to try out. As soon as I walked in I saw that they had a 3 for 2 offer on ALL cosmetics and I was suckered in. 

For less than £13 (including the hayfever tablets) here is what I got:
MUA Extreme Felt Eyeliner in Black, Maybelline Mega Plush Volum’ Express Mascara in Black and Maybelline Colour Show Polka Dots Nail Polish in Speckled Pink. 

The Reviews

Maybelline Colour Show Polka Dots Nail Polish in Speckled Pink

When I first put this nail polish on I was immediately concerned because it appeared to be really quite thin. I couldn’t see it providing a good finish in only two coats. I was happily wrong. After applying two coats, I had a good coverage and a very funky, speckled pattern on my nails. It lasted fairly well (the usual couple of days that I manage to maintain painted nails) but when it came to removing the polish it was a little bit of a nightmare! Due to the fact the polish has the circular black and white dots of glitter in it, when trying to remove it with cotton wool I found that the pink colour came away but the wool attached itself to the dots which remained firmly on my nails. With a gentle bit of persuasion with a scratchy nail, I managed to remove all the dots and return to my natural nails.
Overall I was actually really impressed with this polish and would definitely recommend it for the price of £2.99!
Maybelline Mega Plush Volum’ Express Mascara in Black
I’d been talking to my friend about this mascara, interested to give it a go after seeing the adverts saying it was a new formula with less wax and that was a mousse, so when I saw in Superdrug I had to try it. 
It gave me good separation of the lashes and decent length although the length wasn’t as good as I have had from some of the more premium brands I have used (Estee Lauder and Clinique freebies). The formula was less flaky than some cheaper mascaras I have used in the past, and as a contact lens wearer I found that my eyes were not irritated. 
Would I buy it again? Certainly. I think it’s a good, all round, every day mascara although it isn’t waterproof and for £6.99 (I think!) it’s definitely a good price point. 


MUA Extreme Felt Liner in Black


This eyeliner was my free item and at full price it would have set me back a whopping £2! As someone who is only really used to using the slim brush liquid eyeliners, I wanted a cheap felt tip one just to see if I could get used to using it without spending a lot of money that could go to waste. 
When I first tried this eyeliner I was not impressed. I couldn’t get to grips with the brush (as I suspected) and the eyeliner was very thin and pale when on the eye. However, after using it a couple more times, I have discovered that I can use the brush and the secret to a decent black was just to layer the product. 
For a £2 (or in this case free) eyeliner I’m not going to complain. It’s actually quite nice to have a liner that isn’t immediately a harsh black for using with yellows and more neutral/natural looks.  I would certainly recommend this for someone who is just getting started with liquid eyeliners as the brush tip gives you more control and it’s not a waste of money if you just don’t like it in the end!!

Thank you for reading! I apologise for the dodgy iPhone photography! 
I hope you all have a great weekend.

See you soon!
Lexy x

Follow on Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

