Do Not Settle for Shampoo… Demand Real… Oh

Hi again guys!


Yesterday I posted about trying out imPRESS press on manicure and I said that my next blog post would be about Shampoos and Conditioners.

Over the years I have put my hair through a lot of abuse, it’s been a lot of colours and styles and it gets heat treated on a nearly daily basis so I am always on the look out for products that will help keep my hair looking healthy.

A Selection of my Hair Styles

My hair is currently in the style directly above- an A-line bob with blonde highlights throughout and due to the bleaching my hair is starting to dry out and the ends are looking a bit worse for wear. 

For many years, I have used the Red L’Oreal Colour Protect Shampoo and Conditioner. It always left my hair feeling silky and smelling lovely, but with bleaching my hair more and more I decided that I needed some shampoo that is more conditioning.

I had previously used L’Oreal’s Re-Nutrition Shampoo and Conditioner with Royal Jelly  and found that it smelt gorgeous and left my hair feeling very smooth, silky and with few fly aways. On the downside, due to it being highly nutritious, I found that it was making my hair extra greasy in a shorter period of time than usual. I like to wash my hair every other day, using dry shampoo on a “non wash day” and I am a bit of a perfectionist about having hair that looks greasy so this shampoo just didn’t really work for me. 

When shopping in ASDA the other day, and knowing that I was soon to run out of my traditional “Red L’Oreal”, I decided to have a browse at the shampoos available. 

I perused the John Frieda Sheer Blonde range as I had sent off for a sample of the new Everlasting Blonde Shampoo and Condition but given that it retails (in ASDA at least) 
for £4 per bottle and I could get two bottles of L’Oreal for the same price I decided to hold fire on the Sheer Blond until I had tested it. (When I next get my hair coloured, I will start using the Everlasting Blonde and I will let you know how I feel about it and whether it does help preserve my fresh colour!)

Eventually I decided to try L’Oreal’s Nourish and Shimmer Shampoo and Conditioner designed for highlighted hair. The bottle says that it contains Royal Jelly and lighteners that nourish the hair and make the highlights appear brighter and shinier. 

When I first used the shampoo and conditioner together I really wasn’t expecting much. I was expecting my hair to look sleek but ultimately become greasy quickly and that the highlights would look the same as they did before.

I was very pleasantly surprised! My hair does feel more nourished than it did when I was using the standard colour protect shampoo and some of my damaged ends look a little less straw like. My hair smells amazing, I can assume that it’s the Royal Jelly as this shampoo smells like the Re-Nutition shampoo that also contains Royal Jelly and I actually do think that my highlights look brighter than they did before. 

For the price, I really do like this shampoo and conditioner for my highlighted hair. L’Oreal is often on offer in ASDA which makes it more appealing. When I have used the Sheer Blonde I can say whether I think you are better off spending a little bit more or whether the L’Oreal is the better option for blondes.

Are there any Shampoos and Conditioners I should be trying for my slightly knackered, bleached hair?


Thank you for reading!

Stay Safe and Wonderful!

Lexy 

Follow on Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

