Concealing the Truth

Hi All!


Today I want to talk about concealers- comparing a high end brand to a low end.

On Sunday (July 7th) it was one of the hottest days in the UK so far this year,  with temperatures in London reaching about 29 degrees. With it being so hot, what better time than to try out some concealers that claim to be long wearing! 

When working at Debenhams last year, I purchased some Esteé Lauder double wear foundation and at the time there was a free gift of a double wear concealer. For those of you who aren’t familar with Esteé  Lauder’s double wear range, the claim is that the foundation will give you a flawless look all day, lasting for 15 hours and the concealer claims the same. The Double Wear Concealer retails for £21 for a 7ml bottle. The sample I have is in shade Light Medium which is a little darker than I would usually purchase but I think it blends well and doesn’t look out of place.

In the other corner is the Lasting Perfection Concealer from Collection (who used to be called Collection 2000 back in the day). I bought this concealer on a recommendation from my friend Hannah as she said it was amazing, and because in Superdrug it retails for £4.19. I bought the concealer in fair, the lightest shade available. The Collection concealer claims to cover flaws, blemishes and so on for up to 16 hours. 

I used both concealers as I usually would, but used the Esteé Lauder concealer under my right eye and the Collection one under my left. I prep my skin using an Esteé Lauder moisturiser and a MAC Primer. Then I use a foundation over the whole of my face apart from around the delicate eye area, then use concealer and finish with a powder.

Here are a couple of pictures of the coverage both concealers give when they are fresh on.

Collection Lasting Perfection Concealer

Esteé Lauder Double Wear Concealer


I found that both concealers apply easily with the doe applicator provided by each. The Collection concealer felt slightly thicker on application but both give a nice, even coverage of the eye area.

I wore both these concealers for about 11 hours, so not to the maximum that they claim. Unfortunately in the evening I was unable to get a good photograph of how they had both faired through the long, hot day but I will summarise here.

To be honest, I found that there was very little difference in how both of them lasted. Both concealers had creased a tiny bit by the end of the day but nothing that a quick touch up couldn’t have fixed. I am impressed that both of them lasted that long due to the heat that day and the moisture heat produces! 

In a nutshell, the Esteé Lauder concealer does offer a slightly better coverage, especially of dark circles,  but the difference is so slight that it is not enough to warrant the price being 4 times more than the Collection one. 

Thank you for reading and enjoy the sunshine!!

Stay Safe and Wonderful! 

Lexy x



Follow on Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

