Beauty on a Budget: George Nail Polish

Hi all!

Just a quick blog post today about a product that I used for the first time today and I absolutely loved it despite having reservations about it when I bought it.

I’m sure you’ve already guessed from the title of this blog post that I am talking about a Nail Polish from George cosmetics by ASDA. A couple of weeks ago I spent some Boots Advantage points on some glittery nail polishes by Barry M one of them being Yellow Topaz Glitter. The glitter nail polish is beautiful but with the various sizes of the glitter particles it is best suited to be used as a top coat. My initial thought was that it would look good over the top of a yellow base colour, which it does, but I soon realised that it would look at its best over a gold polish. Since my boyfriend and I are trying to be more frugal so we can put some pennies away for the future I decided that I would see if George cosmetics did a gold nail polish. I thought that even if the polish wasn’t great the Barry M glitter paint would hide it sufficiently. 

We went into ASDA after work one day to buy some standard groceries and I saw that there was, indeed, a gold nail polish by George. It was the last bottle. I had to buy it. The colour is called Chalice and it set me back a whopping £2.75. 

I tried it for the first time today, not expecting great results and I was extremely pleasantly surprised. The coverage is amazing, it only needs one coat, and it dries quickly to a semi matte finish. It reminds me of the old gold markers that we used to use at school for Christmas and you had to shake them up with the ball bearing to get them to work. To be honest, the colour is so nice that I was tempted to wear it as is without the Barry M glitter paint but I caved and this is the result.


The picture doesn’t do this polish justice and please do excuse my disgusting cuticles. 

If you are looking for a gold nail polish that doesn’t break the bank I would definitely recommend checking out this one from George. I am so impressed that I am tempted to try out some of their other colours as well!

Thank you for reading.

Stay Safe and Wonderful 

Lexy x

Leave a Reply

