2015 – A Year in Review

Hello Lovelies!

It’s been a long time since I made time to actually update my blog, despite all my promises to the contrary I have been a bad, neglectful blogger. So, that aside, I thought I would look at the past year and look forward to the year ahead. 

I got a new job!
Since I left university, I have had a variety of jobs, most of which have been within the retail sector. Towards the end of 2014 I began to grow tired of the hours and the poor pay and the treatment I was receiving from some customers. So, around a year ago, I started a new job in an office, working for a handbag company. The job went well but soon the office moved, and due to some personal reasons I made the decision to move on despite not having a new job to go on to. Most people would be worried about this (I am a bit about money but that’s normal right?) however, I am seeing this as a good chance to actually follow my dreams. At the moment I am planning on training to be a teacher and get some blog and vlog time on the side. Onwards and Upwards!

I got engaged!
Back in March (which now seems like a lifetime ago), Si asked me if I would be his wife. Naturally I said yes – after making sure he wasn’t joking! – and we have now set a date to get married this year. It’s becoming a bit daunting now how much we have to do, it seems very real now we are in the same year as the wedding.


I went on a plane!
I am now 28 years old, and until September 2015 I had never been on a plane. Not even an internal flight to somewhere in the UK. Travel for me has always previously been limited to cars and trains. I was a bit nervous about the take off and landing as I know that is when most aeronautical accidents occur! I loved the flight itself, it was amazing to see the world from a new vantage point and some of the physical experiences were pretty fun too! 


I used my passport! 
Following on from the above, we visited Si’s sisters who both live in Spain so I got to use my passport for the first time other than for ID! I was a little nervous coming back in to the UK as, in the 5 years since I got my passport, I have changed a fair bit – less piercings and different hair!- so I did think they might accuse me of not being me! We flew into Gibraltar which I have since read has been voted one of the worst airports to fly in and out of in the world so I feel rather proud of myself for not panicking about it. 


I went brunette! 
It’s not a major thing given how often I change my hair, but in September I was a platinum blonde. My hair is fairly resilient but there’s only so much it can take and the constant bleaching was starting to take its toll so I opted to go back to a dark, red/brown colour to give my hair a rest. 


I spent Christmas in Wales! 
Usually Christmas is spent at home for us. Either with my parents or with Simon’s, we try to alternate. This year was the turn of Simon’s parents but for a change we went away with his entire family, as his brother lives in Australia and we don’t see much of him,  to a beautiful house on the Isle of Anglesey. It was a gorgeous house and we decorated a real tree to make it extra special and very festive. 


Looking forward to 2016…
January is traditionally the time where people look to the future, looking at things coming up in the year to come so I thought I would do the same. I don’t plan on going into too much detail because hopefully I can blog or vlog about them when they happen!

Getting Married!
Obviously, the big event of 2016 for Si and myself is our wedding. It’s very exciting and we have a lot of things booked ready for the event but there is still a lot to do including flowers and the all important outfits! 

More Travel!
Having now discovered a joy for being on a plane and now knowing that I am not terrified of flying, I really want to travel more and see more of our glorious planet. I don’t want to restrict my travelling to just abroad as there is still much left of the UK to explore. We are planning on a big trip for our Honeymoon but I want to do some small mini breaks with friends as well! 

Quality Time!
Not only do I want to spend time with loved ones on mini breaks, I want to spend more time with my friends in general. I want to spend time in my PJs, playing the sims, watching rubbish tv and drinking lots of tea. My last job took up a lot of my time, and when I wasn’t there I was recovering and generally being knackered so this year I want to see people more.

Getting Driving!
Since I was 19 years old I have held a provisional driving licence. One of my only New Years Resolutions that I really want to come through on, is finally learning to drive. For many years I’ve been pretty nervous behind the wheel and I feel that I am just starting to shake that off. As my soon -to-be husband is a driving instructor I don’t think I have any excuses any more! 

Blogging and Vlogging! 
Finally, I want to blog and vlog more. I have said this previously but as I have now given up my job and have a bit of time on my hands, it seems like a great time to do more of this. I don’t expect anything to come of this but it will be nice to look back on in years to come! 


I hope you all had a wonderful time celebrating Christmas and New Year and I hope that you all have wonderful 2016’s! 

Stay Safe and Wonderful,

Lexy 
xXx



Leave a Reply

