50 Shades of Overcast- The Natural History Museum (London)

Hello my lovelies!

Apologies for being so absent of late, as you can imagine, with the wedding now less than 3 months away, things have been a little bit more hectic than usual.

Despite this, I did manage to visit the Natural History Museum in London with my Maid of Honour and Bridesman back in April and this is another addition to my 50 Shades of Overcast series about things to do in the UK.

IMG_0364

What is it?

The Natural History Museum is a museum in London that’s explores all aspects of the world we live in, from the animals we share our world with to the workings of the Earth itself and the other celestial bodies in the Solar System. I should also note that it is probably my favourite place to visit of all time. I’ve been visiting since I was about 5 years old, when my dad used to bring me early on a weekend and every time I go I always experience something new and exciting.

IMG_0443

How do I get there?

Like the V&A that I spoke about before, the easiest way to get to the NHM (sorry – The Natural History Museum is just a little bit long to keep typing!) is by train. The route to the NHM is actually the same as the V&A you just leave the underpass from South Kensington tube station at a different exit. The exits are very clearly sign posted and it only takes about 5 minutes from the station itself. When you come out of the subway, you do have a further short walk up to the entrance but on a good weather day this is delightful too.

IMG_0375

What should I wear?

The majority of the museum is inside and the inside climate is well controlled so it is always a pleasant temperature inside. If the weather is wet or cold or both I would recommend wearing something warm as you do have to walk outside to the museum entrance and if the museum is busy you might be forced to wait outside for a little while but there are cloakrooms inside where you can leave coats and bags  (for a small fee) so you don’t have to traipse them around the entire museum. As with the other places I have covered in this series, comfortable shoes are a must. You will do a lot of walking and you still probably won’t see the entire museum! There are a few places to sit in the galleries if you are feeling a little bit fatigued but when it’s busy these spots can be hard to come by.

IMG_0400

What about food?

The museum has several cafés serving snacks and coffee – my Maid of Honour said that the coffee she bought was really nice and coming from her that is a big compliment! There is also a restaurant on the ground floor that does hot food including very, VERY nice stone baked pizzas. As expected the prices a little bit higher than other places but for convenience the extra money is probably worth it.  If you decide to take your own food and drink there is a huge picnic area down in the basement where you can find benches to sit around. If you have little ones with you, the picnic area is handily colour coded to avoid losing each other.

IMG_0397

How much does it cost?

Entrance to the museum itself is absolutely free. You can make a donation if you want to or buy a guide or map which all goes back into the museum. The museum does run special exhibitions which often cost extra – such as Wildlife Photographer of the Year – but these are entirely optional.

IMG_0416

Anything else I should know?

As I mentioned above, the museum run special exhibitions including museum lates, CSI live and the Wildlife Photographer of the Year. I would recommend looking online if you are interested in any of the extras as they can get booked up very quickly. You can also become a Member for £61 a year which grants you free access to all the paid for exhibitions mentioned above.

It’s also worth noting that the museum is always evolving and sometimes exhibits are closed for work but any closures are listed on the website so it is worth checking before you go. And if you want to see the iconic Dippy the Diplodocus whilst she is still in the main hall, you only have until 2017!

As always, I hope this was useful and if you have any questions or think I’ve missed anything, do let me know!

Stay Safe and Wonderful

Lexy

xXx

Leave a Reply

