The Christmas Tag

Hello Lovelies and Merry Christmas!

I hope you are enjoying the season, whether you celebrate Christmas or not, and are looking forward to 2017.

As it is Christmas Day (where did 2016 go?!) I thought I would do the Christmas Tag. There are 17 questions to get through so without further ado I shall begin to answer them!

img_1103

1) What is your favourite Christmas Film?

Probably Love Actually, although I would happily watch it in the middle of the summer as well! As for films I would only watch at Christmas? Probably The Muppet’s Christmas Carol – I used to watch it every year with my dad and I cannot believe that they cut out an entire song for the DVD release!

2) Have you ever had  a White Christmas? 

Not that I can remember. Usually in the UK we end up having snow (if we get any at all) in November or January and a mild wet December. I am hoping for a white Christmas this year because it would be magical.

3) Where do you usually spend the holidays?

My husband and I usually spend the holidays with one set of parents, alternating each year  and this year is no different – we are with my family this year. Hopefully, next year we will be able to spend it in our own place with our families.

img_19264) What is your favourite Christmas song?

This is a really tough question because I absolutely adore Christmas music, but one song that always makes me feel really festive is Keeping The Dream Alive by Freiheit which, ironically, has nothing really to do with Christmas. The song was on my favourite Christmas CD as a child so it holds its of happy memories.

5) Do you open any presents on Christmas Eve?

No. Neither my family or my husbands do so it’s not a tradition for us – we save it all for the big day.

6) Can you name all Santa’s Reindeer?

Donner, Blitzen, Prancer, Dancer, Comet, Cupid, Dasher, Rudolph… I don’t actually know how many reindeer there are. Did I get them all?

7) What holiday traditions are you looking forward to most this year? 

I’m actually looking forward to starting some new traditions this year. As we got married this year we went to Harrods to get a bauble to commemorate our first Christmas as a married couple and I want to continue doing this for every year.

img_19978) Is your Christmas tree real or fake?

We don’t have our own proper tree this year but both our sets or parents have artificial trees.

9) What is your all-time favourite holiday food/sweet treat? 

Probably my mum’s sausage pies. She always said that making sausage rolls was too time consuming and fiddly so she makes them as pies. She always puts a different design on the top of them to tell them apart from the mince pies so she doesn’t put sugar on the sausage ones.

10) Be honest: do you like receiving or giving gifts better?

I enjoy both. It’s always nice to be given a gift but bringing joy to someone else by putting real thought into a gift for them is just magical.

11) What is the best Christmas gift you have ever received?

I literally couldn’t pick one. I’ve been given so many wonderful, thoughtful gifts over the years that  it would be wrong to say that any one gift has been better than the others.

img_1998

12) What would be your dream place to visit for the holiday season?

I think it would have to be New York, especially if we could guarantee snow. I love the movie Serendipity so being able to experience some of that would be brilliant.

13) Are you a pro- present wrapper or do you fail miserably?

I’m not too bad. I’ve definitely improved over the years and my mum’s advice of using as little paper as possible is key. This year I’ve pushed the boat out with the actual wrapping paper and ribbons so I am hoping that they look a bit more pro this time.

14) Most memorable holiday moment?

Is it terrible to say that I can’t think of one?

15) What made you realise the truth about Santa?

Hearing my mum dropping some presents during the night and saying “bugger!” really loudly. The story still makes me giggle.

img_0131

16) Do you make New Years Resolutions? Do you stick to them?

I don’t really make them or, when I do, I go for something quite general like “be happier” or “see more of friends”. I find these kind of resolutions much easier to stick to and much more important.

17) What makes the holidays special for you?

I think it’s the combination of the shorter days, the coldness and the abundance of fairy lights that just makes it magical. The time off from work and the free time to spend with loved ones. I just love it all!

I hope you enjoy this little insight into my festive life and I would love to hear what you guys do for the holiday season.

Stay Safe and Wonderful

Lexy x

Leave a Reply

