Silicone Make-Up Sponge- A Review

Hello Lovelies,

I hope you are all well.

Today I wanted to talk about one of the latest Beauty Crazes – the Silicone Make Up Sponge. A lot of people wear foundation or CC Cream and use a variety of ways to put them onto their faces – A brush, a sponge or their fingers usually.

There’s now a new applicator on the scene – the silicone sponge. These feel, in my opinion, very similar to a bra insert.

IMG_2260

I had heard a few people talking about these and decided to get my hands on one to give it a try. I will be honest and I ordered mine from eBay so it only cost me around £2.50. I wasn’t sure I wanted to commit much money to something I thought might be a fad. Because eBay has a lot of wonderful things on it, it also had silicone make up sponges with stars on it, and as a sucker for stars, this is the one I went for.

IMG_2261

So how does it perform?

I have found that I use less foundation using the silicone sponge. One pump will definitely do my entire face where with a brush I am using at least a pump and a half if not two.

The finish I get is good, but I wouldn’t say it was any better than when I use the Real Techniques Expert Face Brush. It does blend well at the edges but I think it’s easier to get a flawless finish by buffing out using a brush.

The shape of this particular beauty sponge I find makes getting into the awkward spaces a little tricky, like around your nose. I have 2 nose piercings as well so that’s especially awkward compared to the bristles of a brush.

As for cleaning, this is a dream. You just need some warm water – or micellar water and a piece of cotton wool- and it’s clean. Because of this it’s a great time saving device and it also means I feel more confident that the sponge is 100% clean and much more hygienic than even a well cleansed brush.

IMG_2263

Overall I would say that the sponge was definitely worth the small amount of money I paid for it. I do really like it but I wouldn’t be throwing out my brushes just yet. I do, however, want to try the Evie Blender which is a silicone blender but in a more traditional beauty blender style. It is egged shaped for getting into the difficult parts of your face and it also slightly textured so you get a similar application to a sponge.

I would definitely like to try a different shaped silicone sponge, for getting around my nose more easily and I recommend adding a silicone beauty sponge to your make up kit!

I hope you found this helpful. Have any of you used a silicone sponge? Do you have any tips for using one?

Stay Safe and Wonderful!

Lexy x

Leave a Reply

