Inside My Head – Anxiety and The Luggage

Hello Lovelies,

I hope you are well and enjoying the more common appearances of the sunshine!

I’ve spoken before on here about my battles with anxiety and depression and I wanted to just tell a quick story about how anxiety can be so unreasonable but difficult to silence.

My husband and I went to Gibraltar to visit his sister, her partner and their little girl and we had a lovely time.

However, my anxiety hit me on the way to the airport to catch out flight. My In-Laws kindly drove us to the airport so we didn’t  have to pay extortionate amounts for airport car parking so we all go in the car and as we were getting in I asked my husband if we had anything including our main suitcase of luggage. He assured me that his dad had already put the suitcase in and we were good to go.

All fine.

Until we were on the M1. And suddenly worry hit me. Is the case definitely in the boot? I haven’t seen it. What if he asked his dad and his dad misheard and the case wasn’t in there? If the case wasn’t in there, would we have time to go back for it? We can’t stop on the M1 to check but I wish I had checked before we left to see the suitcase.

I trust my husband, of course I do, and this is where the anxiety shows how truly unreasonable it is. I trust him and he said it was in there but I could not quiet the little voice in my head telling me it wasn’t there. And if it wasn’t there, we wouldn’t have time to go back for it. I was listening out for noises in the boot to confirm that the case was in there and sliding about but I couldn’t hear anything. I could feel the panic rising but I did manage to keep calm through the car journey.

I cannot express the relief, when we got to the airport, to see my husband pulling our suitcase out of the boot of the car.

I just wanted to share this story with you to say that anxiety is a real issue and it makes us worry about things that other people would think are silly but do not be ashamed to worry about things. You are not alone. We stand together.

Stay Safe and Wonderful

Lexy x

Leave a Reply

