The Ordinary Skincare – A Review

Hello lovelies,

I hope you are well and enjoying the long Easter weekend.

Today I want to talk about The Ordinary Skincare – you might already be familiar with them as they are a hop topic on the internet at the moment.

fullsizeoutput_7a0

A bit of background on The Ordinary – They are a Canadian beauty brand from the umbrella brand Deciem. They aim to provide simple skincare that is scientifically proven to work. Due to this the branding and marketing is simple and scarce without all the fluff usually associated with skin care products. They are a cruelty free brand, and as such their products are not available in China. Helpfully, there is an about section on their website if you want to read a bit more in depth.

The Ordinary is available to purchase on ASOS which means for me, as a prime member, free next day delivery. On top of this, The Ordinary is a very affordable skincare brand anyway, helped by the lack of marketing and fluff they can keep the prices down.

I decided, as I am rapidly heading towards 30, that I really should start caring for my skin a bit better and after watching Fleur De Force talking about the brand, I decided to give it a try.

IMG_2274

I have fairly normal skin that can be a bit on the dry side. I have always been lucky and very rarely suffer from spots or particularly oil prone skin so I was looking for something quite general to protect against the signs of ageing (I can see some wrinkles starting to come into being!).

When you look on the website for The Ordinary, they have a very handy regimen guide to help you pick the items that are going to work for you based upon your skin type and what effects you are after. I opted for the “example regimen for general signs of age” so I bought “Buffet”, Hyaluronic Acid 2% + B5, Advanced Retinoid 2% and 100% Organic Cold-Pressed Rose Hip Seed Oil. After watching a video by VintageorTacky I also added Caffeine Gel 5% + EGCG to help with my under eye shadows. In total I spent £42 which for 5 things I think is a bargain!

IMG_2271

Let’s first talk about the packaging. I am a big fan of it. I love how simple it is whilst conveying all the information you need to know. The outer boxes feel high quality with a strangely soft, matte finish in monochromatic shades that look minimalist and classic.

The bottles themselves share this simple design, some in frosted glass bottles and some in brown bottles which are UV-protective to keep the ingredients safe from light damage. Despite this I would still keep the bottles in the drawer to increase longevity. The bottles also come with a pipette built in to the lid for easy application.

IMG_2272

The products themselves are various colours and consistencies but none have any added fragrances which I like. There’s nothing worse than putting something on your face that you don’t like the smell of and have it wafting up your nostrils all day!

As for results? Well, my skin is fairly decent anyway. However, I have definitely noticed that it seems less dry (and certainly dries out when I forget to keep up with my regime) and some of my fine lines do seem to be reduced. The most improvement though, has been my under eye shadows and bags. I really did find that I noticed an improvement pretty much immediately after using the Caffeine Gel 5% + EGCG.

I definitely recommend this line of skin care, it’s effective and very affordable. You can mix it in with your current favourites as well!

The Ordinary are bringing out foundations soon and I definitely want to give them a go!

Have you tried anything from The Ordinary that you think I should give a go? Or any other skin care I should try? Let me know!

Stay Safe and Wonderful

Lexy x

Leave a Reply

